What Is a Sour Cherry?

branche de cerisier griottier

The sour cherry is a fruit that is smaller than the average Bing cherry. It can also be called Morello, tart or Montmorency cherry. The sour cherry (from its botanical name Prunus cerasus) is much more resistant to cold than other cherry tree. It has been cultivated in Quebec since the early 2000s. The new cherry trees, which produce very tart fruit, were created by the University of Saskatchewan to withstand our climates.

There are several varieties of sour cherries. The Crispsons Passion, Carmin Jewell, Valentine, Romeo and Cupid have all elected homes on the land of the Bouchards.

The harvest lasts 3-4 weeks and takes place in July when the fruit is bursting with flavor.

Sour cherries are a real superfood! Thanks to its high content of antioxidants, this delicious little fruit is an ally for your health! By regularly consuming sour cherries, you can help your body limit cellular aging. They also contain polyphenols which are beneficial for your cardiovascular health. Finally, their water and fiber concentration will help you maintain regularity.

How to eat sour cherries?

Sour cherries can be eaten raw - they are increasingly called the sour berry candies. This new flavor surprises our taste buds at first, but quickly becomes addictive.

This sweet and sour little fruit can also be cooked in several ways. Particularly versatile, it is delicious in sweet pastries, but also in savory dishes. It works wonderfully in jams, puree, gravy, pies, dressings, spreads, on ice cream or even on cheesecake. A sour cherry sauce would make a delicious accompaniment to a duck breast. You can also make an exquisite liqueur by mixing the fruits as is in an alcohol solution and sugar and then let stand for five or six months. It also goes perfectly with chocolate, so don't hesitate to incorporate sour cherries into your next recipe.

Recipe Ideas

Language
FR
Open drop down

Qu'est ce que la griotte?

branche de cerisier griottier sour cherry tree

La griotte est le fruit du griottier, aussi appelé cerisier acide ou cerisier aigre. Le griottier (de son nom botanique Prunus cerasus) est bien plus résistant au froid que les autres cerisiers. 

On la cultive au Québec depuis le début des années 2000. Les nouveaux cerisiers, qui produisent des fruits très sucrés, ont été créés par l’Université de la Saskatchewan pour résister à nos climats.

Il existe plusieurs variétés de griottiers. Les Crispson Passion, Carmin Jewell, Valentine, Roméo et Cupid ont tous élus domiciles sur la terre des Bouchard. 

La récolte s’étend sur 3-4 semaines et s’effectue au mois de juillet alors que le fruit est gorgé de saveur.

La griotte est un véritable superaliment ! Grâce à sa forte teneur en antioxydants, ce petit fruit délicieux est un allié pour votre santé ! En consommant régulièrement des griottes, vous pouvez ainsi aider votre corps à limiter son vieillissement cellulaire. Elles contiennent également des polyphénols qui sont bénéfiques à votre santé cardio-vasculaire. Enfin, leur concentration en eau et en fibres vous aidera à conserver un transit régulier.

Comment manger la griotte ?

La griotte peut être mangée crue - on les appelle de plus en plus les bonbons sûrs des petits fruits. Cette nouvelle saveur, qui met à l’épreuve nos papilles gustatives au début, nous rend vite addictif.

Ce petit fruit aigre-doux peut aussi être cuisiné de plusieurs façons. Particulièrement versatile, il est délicieux dans des pâtisseries sucrées, mais également dans des plats salés.Il convient merveilleusement aux confitures, aux compotes, aux tartes, aux vinaigrettes, en tartinades, sur de la crème-glacée ou encore sur un gâteau au fromage. Il se marie aussi à la perfection avec le chocolat, alors n’hésitez pas à l’intégrer à vos recettes de gâteaux fondants, ou en tartinade pour fourrer un gâteau au chocolat. Enfin, une sauce aux griottes est un régal en accompagnement d’un bon magret de canard. On peut aussi faire une liqueur exquise en mélangeant les fruits tels quels dans un solution d’alcool et un peu de sucre pour ensuite laisser reposer durant cinq ou six mois. 

Des idées recette

Language
FR
Open drop down